Gala Info & Registration

Gala | Celebrating the legacy of our leaders. Guides along our rainbow journey.

During the 2018 ReconcilingWorks Assembly and Reconciling in Christ Conference, ReconcilingWorks will be hosting a Gala and Celebration Friday evening June 22, 2018! We would love to see you there! 

Included in the assembly registration, this night of celebration and socializing will include a silent auction, three-course dinner, live music from David Lohman, and an awards program highlighting the successes of ReconcilingWorks and the people who have made this organization what it is today! 

The Courtyard Marriott Downtown Minneapolis will be our host for this joyful evening and is the same hotel ReconcilingWorks has partnered with to offer a housing block! It is just a mile from Augsburg College. For those coming from the Friday Conference activities, there will be shuttle services to the hotel and back.

Auction items include:

  • Gift baskets from ReconcilingWorks chapters around the map
  • And MANY other fabulous items!

Remember: the Gala is INCLUDED with your "Our Rainbow Journey" assembly registration. However, if you can't make it for the entire assembly, you are welcome to come for this unforgettable evening. To register for the Gala only, click the button below.


If you would like to nominate someone you feel would be a deserving recipient of one of the listed awards, please email ReconcilingWorks at and include the nominees name, the award they are being nominated for, and a brief write up about what makes the person a successful fit for the award.

Jim Siefkes Justice-Maker Award

The Jim Siefkes Justice-Maker Award was established by Lutherans Concerned / North America in 1992 to recognize superior and tireless efforts of straight allies on behalf of LGBT Lutherans.

The Rev. Jim Siefkes obtained funding for and convened the initial meeting in Minneapolis in June of 1974 that resulted in the formation of Lutherans Concerned for Gay People, now ReconcilingWorks. The criteria for the Jim Siefkes Justice-Maker Award reflect the contributions of its namesake. Recipient must be a non-LGBT Lutheran who has made significant contributions to advancing justice for LGBT Lutherans. Actions should have a broad impact and not be limited to a particular locale or region. Nominees for the Siefkes Award are evaluated and the recipient is selected by the ReconcilingWorks Board of Directors, and the Award will be presented at the ReconcilingWorks Triennial Assembly

2018 Recipients: To Be Determined


Chuck Lewis Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is to recognize a member of the LGBT community who has given a life-time of exemplary service. Who has been a pivotal example of moving the pendulum of justice forward for people of all sexual orientations, gender ideates and expressions. It was first given to the Rev. Chuck Lewis in 2012. 

2018 Recipient: To Be Determined


Jeannine Janson Distinguished Service Award

This award was first given in 2008 to Jeannine Janson. In 2010, it was awarded to Jerry Vagts and Phil Soucy. It award is given to give someone who has given a significant amount of their time and talents to further the movement of welcome, inclusion and equity for people of all sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions within the Lutheran Communion.

2018 Recipient: To Be Determined